Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Scientist's work with invasive pythons receives major media coverage

Research conducted by J.D. Willson, wildlife ecologist at Virginia Tech and affiliated faculty member with the Fralin Life Science Institute, is receiving major media coverage.  Read the VT news story here.

ABC News: http://abcnews.go.com/Technology/wireStory/pythons-apparently-wiping-everglades-mammals-15474120#.Tyf_lJiN6JU

CBS Miami: http://miami.cbslocal.com/2012/01/31/study-pythons-putting-the-squeeze-on-everglades-animals/

Daily Herald (Provo, Utah): http://www.heraldextra.com/news/national/pythons-apparently-wiping-out-everglades-mammals/article_38836056-4b87-11e1-96c2-001871e3ce6c.html

Davidson (College) News: http://davidsonnews.net/pets/2012/01/30/biologist-says-pythons-kill-off-everglades-mammals/

Environmental Protection: http://eponline.com/articles/2012/02/02/pythons-may-be-reason-for-mammal-habitat-decline-in-everglades.aspx

MSN News Canada: http://news.ca.msn.com/world/pythons-apparently-wiping-out-everglades-mammals

MSNBC: http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/46194981/ns/technology_and_science-science/#.TygTJZiN6JU

National Parks Traveler: http://www.nationalparkstraveler.com/2012/01/study-says-pythons-behind-startling-declines-common-mammals-everglades-national-park9397

National Public Radio: http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=146097174

News Leader (Springfield, Mo.): http://www.news-leader.com/article/20120131/NEWS01/301310036/

NOLA.com (New Orleans): http://www.nola.com/newsflash/index.ssf/story/pythons-apparently-wiping-out-everglades-mammals/2b0f9e33b99d4b89b125662f0d2f0dac

Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America: http://www.pnas.org/content/109/7.toc

San Francisco Chronicle: http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2012/01/30/MNDT1N0IJV.DTL&feed=rss.news_nation

Sci-Tech Today: http://www.sci-tech-today.com/story.xhtml?story_id=133007GJ16P3

Science Daily: http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2012/01/120130193241.htm

Science Daily: http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2012/01/120131135205.htm

South Florida Sun Sentinel: http://www.sun-sentinel.com/news/palm-beach/fl-python-killing-20120130,0,6326000.story

The Daily Mail (U.K.): http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2094047/How-HUGE-pythons-wiping-Florida-mammal-populations.html

Time Health: http://www.time.com/time/health/article/0,8599,2105718,00.html

Washington Times: http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2012/jan/30/pythons-ravaging-everglades-mammals/

WPTV-TV (West Palm Beach, Fla.): http://www.wptv.com/dpp/news/state/study-burmese-pythons-have-virtually-wiped-out-everglades-raccoons-marsh-rabbits-and-opossums

WSET-TV (Lynchburg) Interview with J.D. Willson: http://www.wset.com/story/16644481/vt-researcher-sounds-python-alarm-for-everglades

Yahoo News: http://news.yahoo.com/pythons-apparently-wiping-everglades-mammals-201541112.html