Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Virginia Tech Life Science Seminars

About VTLSS

The Virginia Tech Life Science Seminars (VTLSS) are an interdepartmental seminar series funded by Fralin Life Science Institute, the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, and VBI. The seminars are held every Friday at 12:20 PM at the Virginia Bioinformatics Institute (VBI) Conference Center, during spring and fall semesters.

Seminar Schedule

Date Name of Speaker Title Contact Information Host
01/24/2014 - 12:20pm Dr. Yvonne Reid VTLSS: Dr. Yvonne Reid, "Misidentification of Animal Cell Lines: Impact on Research" happy@vt.edu Dr. Anne McNabb
01/31/2014 - 12:20pm Dr. Daniel Forger VTLSS: Dr. Daniel Forger, "Using Mathematical Modeling to Understand Daily Timekeeping" finkielc@vt.edu Dr. Carla Finkielstein
02/07/2014 - 12:20pm Dr. Emmitt Jolly VTLSS: Dr. Emmitt Jolly, "Monsters Inside Me: The Tale of a Parasitic Worm" esmith@vt.edu Dr. Ed Smith
02/14/2014 - 12:20pm Dr. Marty Roop VTLSS: Dr. Marty Roop, "Manganese transport and virulence in Brucella" tinzana@vt.edu Dr. Tom Inzana
02/21/2014 - 12:20pm Multiple VTLSS: Mini-Symposium spwill@vt.edu Phoebe Williams
02/28/2014 - 12:20pm Dr. Lionel Ivashkiv VTLSS: Dr. Lionel Ivashkiv, "Regulation of macrophage activation by signaling and epigenetic mechanisms" lwli@vt.edu Dr. Liwu Li
03/07/2014 - 12:20pm Dr. Andrew Murkin VTLSS: Dr. Andrew Murkin, "From Mechanism to Drug Design: New Methods and Applications of Isotope Effects in Enzymology" bcassera@vt.edu Dr. Belen Cassera
03/14/2014 - 12:20pm Dr. Joseph Smith VTLSS: Dr. Joseph Smith, "Cerebral malaria: deadly parasite binding variants target endothelial protein C receptor" bcassera@vt.edu Dr. Belen Cassera
03/21/2014 - 12:20pm Dr. Alex Mogilner VTLSS: Dr. Alex Mogilner, "Discrete and continuous models of mitotic spindle" cimini@vt.edu Dr. Daniela Cimini
03/28/2014 - 12:20pm Dr. George Dimopoulos VTLSS: Dr. George Dimopoulos, "Curing mosquitoes and the world of infections with human pathogens" zhujin@vt.edu Dr. Jinsong Zhu
04/04/2014 - 12:20pm Dr. Thomas Mitchell VTLSS: Dr. Thomas Mitchell, "Whole Genome Approaches to Understand Fungal Biology and Virulence" cblawren@vt.edu Dr. Chris Lawrence
04/11/2014 - 12:20pm Dr. Richard Stevens VTLSS: Dr. Richard Stevens, "How Large-scale Computing and Knowledge Bases Will Accelerate the Development of Biological Theory and Modeling" kohara1@vt.edu Kathy O-Hara
04/18/2014 - 12:20pm Dr. Jun Lin VTLSS: Dr. Jun Lin, "Bile salt hydrolase as a microbiome target for enhanced animal production and human health" lyuan@vt.edu Dr. Lijuan Yuan
04/25/2014 - 12:20pm Dr. Mark Estelle VTLSS: Dr. Mark Estelle, "Auxin Perception and Response in Arabidopsis and Moss" znimchuk@vt.edu Dr. Zach Nimchuk
05/02/2014 - 12:20pm Dr. Thomas Silhavy VTLSS: Dr. Thomas Silhavy, "Outer Membrane Biogenesis in Gram-Negative Bacteria" ams@vt.edu Dr. Ann Stevens
05/09/2014 - 12:20pm Dr. Szilard Voros VTLSS: Dr. Szilard Voros, "Combining Next-Generation Phenotyping with Panomics-- A New Standard for Biomarker and Drug Discovery" thowland@vt.edu Dr. Tim Howland