Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Virginia Tech Life Science Seminars

About VTLSS

The Virginia Tech Life Science Seminars (VTLSS) are an interdepartmental seminar series funded by Fralin Life Science Institute, the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, and VBI. The seminars are held every Friday at 12:20 PM at the Virginia Bioinformatics Institute (VBI) Conference Center, during spring and fall semesters.

Seminar Schedule

Date Name of Speaker Title Contact Information Host
01/23/2015 - 12:20pm Dr. Sharon Ramey VTLSS: Dr. Sharon Ramey, "The Civil Rights of Health, Education, and Biology: MLK's Enduring Legacy" jphillip@vt.edu Dr. John Phillips
01/30/2015 - 12:20pm Dr. Daniel Kearns VTLSS: Dr. Daniel Kearns, "CsrA and flagellar structural homeostasis in Bacillus subtilis" caswellc@vt.edu Dr. Clay Caswell
02/06/2015 - 12:20pm Dr. Hironori Funabiki VTLSS: Dr. Hironori Funabiki, "Building micron-scale architectures on chromatin" silke.hauf@vt.edu Dr. Silke Hauf
02/13/2015 - 12:20am Dr. Eric Ward VTLSS: Dr. Eric Ward, "An integrated approach to discovering useful traits and biologicals" vinatzer@vt.edu Dr. Boris Vinatzer
02/20/2015 - 12:20pm Dr. Nicholas Provart VTLSS: Dr. Nicholas Provart, "Raising the BAR for Hypothesis Generation in Plant Biology Using Large Data Sets" grene@vt.edu Dr. Ruth Grene
02/27/2015 - 12:20pm Dr. David Mosser VTLSS: Dr. David Mosser, "Macrophage regulation of immune/inflammatory responses" lwli@vt.edu Dr. Liwu Li
03/06/2015 - 12:20pm Dr. Ana Fernandez-Sesma VTLSS: Dr. Ana Fernandez-Sesma, "Immune modulation mechanisms of dengue virus" kumarans@vt.edu Dr. Elankumaran Subbiah
03/13/2015 - 12:20pm Dr. S.J. Henning VTLSS: Dr. S.J. Henning, "Intestinal Stem Cells: Keys to Regenerative Medicine on the GI Tract" nanda@vt.edu Dr. Nanda Nanthakumar
03/20/2015 - 12:20pm Dr. Roger Deal VTLSS: Dr. Roger Deal, "Gene regulatory mechanisms in plant development" znimchuk@vt.edu Dr. Zack Nimchuk
03/27/2015 - 12:20pm Dr. Anna Panchenko VTLSS: Dr. Anna Panchenko, "Modulation of protein-protein binding: physicochemical principles and applications" alexy@vt.edu Dr. Alexy Onufreiv
04/03/2015 - 12:20pm Dr. Rick Tarleton VTLSS: Dr. Rick Tarleton, "The how's and why's of an avirulent live vaccine for Chagas disease" psobrado@vt.edu Dr. Pablo Sobrado
04/10/2015 - 12:20pm TBD VTLSS: VBI cbarrett@vbi.vt.edu Dr. Chris Barrett
04/17/2015 - 12:20pm Dr. Kelly Hughes VTLSS: Dr. Kelly Hughes, "The reducible complexity of the bacterial flagellum" bscharf@vt.edu Dr. Birgit Scharf
04/24/2015 - 12:20pm Dr. Angelika Amon VTLSS: Dr. Angelika Amon, "Cellular Consequences of Aneuploidy" cimini@vt.edu Dr. Daniela Cimini
05/01/2015 - 12:20pm Dr. Angela Scarpa VTLSS: Dr. Angela Scarpa, "The Life and Times of Autism Spectrum Disorder" finkielc@vt.edu Dr. Carla Finkielstein